The Weekend

Most of us spend 71.4% of our time thinking about it or planning for it, wishing it was coming, anticipating the difference it will bring or the potential it holds.  Sometimes we wish our lives away in the hope that it will come sooner.

My weekend started off with a takeaway and a movie. It’s a great way to end the week and we always have a laugh, whether it’s because of the movie (we tend to watch cheesey horror – the more predictable the better) or just a natural release of the stresses and emotions of a full on week of work. Tonight it was Frightnight, and with David Tennant in the role of a self styled vampire hunter, it was always going to be entertaining.

Saturday dawned grey and misty. I had a few things to do which would culminate in picking Rufus up from his hair consultant (a dog must look his best) after a summer cut to remove his shaggy winter coat. But first I headed off to Margam park to take some photos in the early morning mist. I like Margam with its beautiful Gothic house and the ruins of the original 16th Century manor house nearby. I had the park to myself most of the time I was there and I enjoyed the brief stroll around the grounds.

Then it was back to Swansea and the library and then a brief visit to the seafront. Eventually, with all my jobs and chores done I got round to collecting the hound, minus most of his fur, from the stylist. We headed off to the river Tawe, one of our favourite places and somewhere mentioned several times before in this blog. We had a great time splashing around in the water; Rufus was clearly relieved to have his warm coat removed. He managed to fall into a deep pool at one point when he over balanced in his eagerness to retrieve a stone I’d thrown for him. I managed to grab him but he made his own way back to the rocks and then, in revenge for my part in his soaking, he shook himself all over me so that we were both drenched!

Today, I woke early as the sun was shining through the curtains. Before breakfast, I headed off to Tycoch square and the site of my old junior school which has been demolished to make way for a block of flats. I’ve been taking photos of the area for a while in anticipation. The removal of the great red brick building has made a huge difference to the square, allowing more light in to the area. I’m sad to see it go (my mum went to school there too) and I hope the flats don’t overload the local infrastructure. I suspect they will, though.

Then I went down to Mumbles as there was a lot of sea mist and I could see the potential for some nice photos. I had Mumbles pretty much to myself, apart from the odd jogger and cyclist. I was back home by 9.30 to have breakfast (I’d been quite keen to get out). The rest of the day was spent doing work on the house (the bathroom again) and the garden. This is the year of sorting my garden out. Again. No, really. I’ve had enough practice.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

