Everest Base Camp and Llyn y Fan Fawr

The last of the ‘this time last year’ entries, I promise.

5 April is the anniversary of when we reached Base Camp. According to the photos, we got there about 10.30am UK time. It was a great experience and made all the more special by the people I was with.

At 10.30 this morning I was in work then, about to finish for a half day, and couldn’t help mentioning the date to some of my work colleagues.

From work, I went to pick up my walking buddy, Rufus, and we headed off to walk to Llyn y Fan Fawr. As we neared the parking spot, I could see all the hills around were covered in a thick layer of snow. I love snow but it was a surprise to have driven from sunshine at work to winter in around 30 minutes.

Neither of us were daunted, though, and we headed off up the hill towards the lake. The higher we went, the more snow there was until it was about 3 inches deep. Deeper where it had drifted into hollows and across streams.It was windy but not too cold and the going was fairly easy.

Eventually, we got to the lake and Rufus was happy. He went paddling and I started to eat my chicken and lettuce sandwiches. I threw some stones for him and then he realsed I was eating. We ended up sharing the sandwiches. Then I had to throw more stones.

I wasn’t feeling 100% (it turned out to be a cold) so we headed back to the car. I threw snowballs for Rufus which he loved, but he couldn’t figure out where they were going. So I made bigger ones that didn’t come apart and he was happy. He even grabbed them in his mouth until he realised they were cold. Nevertheless, he’d grab the next one just in case.

It was slippery coming down and I kept an eye on where I was putting my feet. I looked up to check on Rufus to see him in the distance charging off towards the river. We followed the water back down to the car.

By the time I got home, the sun was out and it was hot. It was as if I’d been to a different country.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response to “Everest Base Camp and Llyn y Fan Fawr

  1. Pingback: Back on Top | franticsmurf

Leave a Reply

